RSS

Carmen Miranda

13 Jan

Pedro Lourenço SS14

Carmen Miranda is one of the 3 influences of the Pedro Lourenço Spring/Summer 2014 Collection.

Other Carmen Miranda-inspired collections : Charlotte Olympia Spring/Summer 2011 (this collection, which featured the « Bananas Is My Business » pumps, decorated with hand-stitched leather fruits, was a tribute to Carmen Miranda), Chris Benz Resort 2011 (this collection paid homage to Carmen Miranda and Sascha Brastoff).

Photo : Courtesy of Pedro Lourenço

 

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2014 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Carmen Miranda

  1. Reticent Mental Property

    January 13, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Do you follow this blog? Ihttp://duextutte.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/trends-springsummer-2014-1/ just found it. Was initially drawn to it just for the Italian connection but I enjoy it. You might, too… now the shoes…here…not sure about them…but honestly, I am getting to the point where I don’t desire a shoe closet; I want to dedicate an entire WING.

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 10:08 am

      Thank you very much for the info on duextutte : I didn’t know this blog (OMG, there are so many great blogs out there !!!) but, as I’m very curious, I checked it out, and I liked the post about the S/S 2014 trends a lot ! You seem to be a little bit shoe-obsessed, and, as Carrie Bradshaw is my favorite style icon, I won’t blame you ! These ones are really strange but pretty covetable to me !

       
  2. The Fashion Huntress

    January 13, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    I love how dynamic this is- there’s depth and cutouts- I love it!

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 10:12 am

      Me too, thx !! I’m especially crazy about the purple ruffle which adds a vibrant pop of color to this very graphic look ! XXX

       
  3. dievca

    January 13, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    I wonder how warm that skirt gets…

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 10:25 am

      Indeed … but its transparency is so edgy ! XO

       
  4. perfectedlook

    January 13, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Hi , your one of the lucky seven bloggers who I have chosen to do he beauty get to know you tag. If you need any help you are welcome to look on my page. Please inform me when you have finished the tag. The questions are on my page and I will look forward to reading your awnsers

    Perfected look
    Blogger

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 11:32 am

      Thank you so much for choosing me ! Although it was really fun to answer the questions that I have posted on my comment on your fab blog, due to my editorial guideline, I won’t dedicate a post to them on my blog, but I’ve really enjoyed this tag ! Stay perfect and beautiful ! XO

       
      • perfectedlook

        January 14, 2014 at 4:32 pm

        This is really nice thanks for doing the tag your awnsers were great

         
      • Fashion Mayann

        January 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

        Thank you so much, it was fun sharing my (very simple) beauty routine with you ! Stay gorgeous ! XO

         
  5. dannadesigns

    January 14, 2014 at 6:13 am

    Digging the cut-outs and textures!

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 12:23 pm

      THX !!! This is such a well-thought-out and beautifully-executed piece ! XOXO

       
  6. Maison Bentley Style

    January 14, 2014 at 11:25 am

    So many different elements..but so skilfully pulled together..I’m impressed xxx

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 14, 2014 at 11:42 am

      Me too, thank you !! It’s pretty complex yet gorgeously simple ! xxxxx

       
  7. fashionassist

    January 17, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Every layer speaks for itself…
    a visual feast to savour…
    wonderfully delicious~

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 17, 2014 at 3:24 pm

      Wonderfully delicious like your oh-so-smart comments !

       
  8. whatwewear

    January 17, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    we love the cut out with the dramatic black and white, so beautiful! this dress is a celebration of the female body!

     
    • Fashion Mayann

      January 17, 2014 at 3:43 pm

      Absolutely, thank you !!! And it features one of my favorite trends : see through skirts ! XOXO

       

Leave a Reply

 
